MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: MAY 13, 1996

THE STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

ON THIS the 13th day of May, 1996, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in REGULAR SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

KENNETH JAGGERS EDSON REYNOLDS BILLY M. JORDAN GLENN MORRIS PRESIDENT VICE PRESIDENT SECRETARY DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: None.

Also present were B. J. Kalmer, Doris Shaw, Marilyn Storey, Garry Romines, Bobby Burney, Jack Kemp, Dave Reinhartsen, Pat Wright, K. P. Lester, Adelene McCormick, Wendell Martens, Eldon Wold, Walt Sears, Jr., David Weidman, E. C. Withers and Shirley Maples.

The President called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of this meeting was given, stating the time, place, and purpose, all as required by Chapter 551 of the Government Code.

Invocation was given by Edson Reynolds.

MINUTES of April 15, 1996, were read and approved.

MOTION was made by Glenn Morris, and SECONDED by Edson Reynolds, to ratify action taken in paying bills since the last meeting. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A list of the bills is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

Mr. K. P. Lester informed the Board of several items, which he felt needed to be addressed by the Board:

- A. Fix the morning glory to provide safety factors.
- B. Raise the level of the morning glory four feet.
- C. Discharge valves are unsafe for use.
- D. Lay water line 300 to 400 feet and pump excess water from the bottom of the lake and control lake level by means of a float.
- E. Use District's \$2 million reserve to replace boathouses and piers to allow maximum usage.

The Board advised Mr. Lester that the items would be taken under consideration.

Bids for the sale of a Ford 3000 tractor were opened as follows: A. D. Harris \$4,516.00 Cal Hutson \$4,785.00 Conroy Ford Tractor \$4,450.00

MOTION was made by Edson Reynolds, and SECONDED by Glenn Morris, to accept the bid from Cal Hutson for \$4,785.00. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". Copies of the bids are attached hereto and made a part hereof.

Garry Romines discussed with the Board the need for assistance in financing a cooperative brochure.

MOTION was made by Billy Jordan, and SECONDED by Glenn Morris, to contribute \$1,000 which will be incorporated in the 1997 budget. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

MOTION was made by Billy Jordan, and SECONDED by Glenn Morris, to appoint Eldon Wold to fill the vacancy on the Board left by the resignation of Bill Elliston. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

The Board recessed to allow Mr. Wold to complete filing with the Secretary of State's office. Upon reconvening, Walt Sears administered the oath of office to Mr. Wold.

MOTION was made by Edson Reynolds, and SECONDED by Billy Jordan, to approve the amendment of Article XVI of the District's rules and regulations as presented. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of the amendment is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

Manager Withers reported on the progress of the sale of water to the City of Marshall and advised the Board that the amended water contracts are listed on the May 16 agenda of the Texas Water Development Board.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 10th day of June 1996.

Kenneth Jaggers, President Edson Reynolds, Vice President Billy M. Jordan, Secretary Glenn Morris, Director Eldon Wold, Director